THE INTERFERENCE LINE OF THINKING
Refereeing is a thankless but necessary task. Knowing the Rules and using the correct calls is expected of referees, but the really difficult part is making decisions when one of the players appeals for a let. Below is a summary of the thought process a referee should go through when asked 'Let Please'...
1. Did interference occur?
The striker has four basic rights, and interference has occurred if the opponent fails to provide him with any of these, even if he has made every effort to do so:
If no interference has occurred, or the interference was so minimal that the player's view of and freedom to get to and play the ball were not effected, then it's NO LET, otherwise move on to No.2.
2. Could the obstructed player have reached the ball and made a good return? And was he making every effort to do so?
If either answer is NO, then it's NO LET, otherwise move on to No.3.
3. Did the obstructed player move past the point of interference and play on? Or create the interference in moving to the ball?
If the answer to either question is YES, then it's NO LET, otherwise move on to No.4.
4. Did the obstructing player make every effort avoid the interference?
If he didn't, then it's a STROKE, otherwise move on to No.5.
5. Did the interference prevent the player's reasonable swing?
If YES, then it's a STROKE to the player, otherwise move on to No.6.
6. Could the obstructed player play a winning return?
If YES, then it's a STROKE, otherwise it's just a LET unless No.7 applies.
7. Would the obstructed player have struck the opponent with the ball going directly to the front wall or, if going to a side wall, would it have been a winning return?
If either answer is YES, then it's a STROKE to the player.
Remember that this is a simplification - read the rules thoroughly.